Friends With Shadows – Chapter 9 (It’s Happening!)

Writer’s Note: This chapter, things are starting to pick up. I’m excited about how this chapter develops. I hope you enjoy! Read on, my friends! …and happy Friday! Booya!

Chapter 9
Cherie’s tall and refined stature had moved from the corner to whisper into the ear the large figure. He listened for a moment then held his hand up to her and motioned to to me, “I understand. We’re being rude to our guest and time is not a luxury of ours.”

I stood, knees locked. I felt free to leave but unwilling. The man with the large opal colored ring emerged from the shadows with his large hand extended, “You can call me Big Rich.”

“Big Rich. Hi. I’m – ” he interrupted. Big Rich told me he already knows who I am. My comparatively timid voice was drowned by his significantly larger voice. I have the feeling that his elementary school teachers would still get mad at him for using his “six-inch voice”.

As he steps closer to me, more into the light, his eyes become more clear a deep green color. Big Rich tells me it’s time and if I want to go with him, he will show what we can do to make this world better. I determine he must be speaking in platitudinal sincerity. Everyone wants to change something for the better even at the detriment of others. Good intentions.

“…of course, you’re free to leave. But, I do say this with deep pretension, if you come with me, it will be indeterminably difficult for you to leave. I trust that once you see your purpose, then you will want to stay.”

“Awfully confident, eh, Big Rich? What could you possibly show me that would give me a greater purpose and make me follow you?”

The thing about paradox shifts is that you usually don’t see them coming. You may get small indicators of impending change, reactions of forces interacting with your life. Ripples of these changes are noticed before the altered reality happens. Suddenly everything is going unexpectedly well in your life, or for no obvious reason problems have begun to resolve themselves giving you respite from the chaos of life. But, if you really pay close attention, these are simply precursors, ripples, to some change that has already begun to take place and will forever change your perspective or your life directly. Now, calm down, stop understanding change as something bad – change isn’t always bad, but it is change. Whatever change that is taking place is like, in physics, a wave-particle duality, and doesn’t and won’t exist until you observe it to exist. This is the human equivalent of closing your eyes, plugging your ears, and yelling childrens songs until you run out of breath or crack your eyes open to see if the boogey man is still there. Once your mind is opened to this paradox shift, you have no choice but to accept it as reality. All that you can choose to do is react or walk away knowing it will continue with or without you, but now you have the burden of knowledge.

….TO BE CONTINUED….

Leave a Reply

